How do Freelancers determine the fee for a project?

How do Freelancers determine the fee for a project?

Hi everyone😁, my name is The_olajumoke..... and I have always wondered how front-end developers charge for a project, so as not to undercharge or overcharge a client......so I made my findings and I will be sharing feedbacks...

I consulted some front-end developers to get their views on how they charge their clients... The first said he charges per design-screen and looks at the complexity of each page and multiplies it by a certain amount which sums up to the total amount for the job.

Another said he consults startups on how much they will charge to get the job done and then reduces the price a bit....so if the startup gives a fee of $1,000, he would most likely go for $850-900. However, I personally think this is time consuming.

Another also said that he gives a random figure off his head that he seems would be sufficient to get the job done. However, I think this can be risky because you can't truly determine a task's level of difficulty until you get into it. One common thing I noticed when i had consulted them all, was that they all implied that you should "charge something you won't regret when you start building". So based on the feedbacks, it turns out there is actually no laid-down guide or manual to follow when charging a client, you just have to find what pattern works for you and go for a price you wont regret.... but I think its better to be sipping some champagne while you debug though🥂...

so developers.....how do you charge for a project?